The Nobel Prize is an annual, international prize first awarded in 1901 for achievements in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature, and Peace. The award was established by the 1895 will and estate of Swedish chemist and inventor Alfred Nobel. Alfred Nobel was best known for his invention of Dynamite, the invention for which few proclaimed him as a “The Merchant of Death”.[1] Nobel was deeply disappointed by it and signed his last will and testament and set aside the bulk of his estate to establish the Nobel Prizes, to be awarded annually without distinction of nationality.

1902 Ronald Ross Medicine Foreign citizens born in India
1907 Rudyard Kipling Literature Foreign citizens born in India
1913 Rabindranath Tagore Literature Citizen of India
1930 C.V. Raman Physics Citizen of India
1968 Har Gobind Khorana Medicine Foreign citizens of Indian origin
1979 Mother Teresa Peace Foreign born citizen of India
1983 S.Chandrasekhar Physics Indian-born American citizen
1998 Amartya Sen Economics Citizen of India
2001 V.S.Naipaul Literature Indian descendant UK citizen
2007 Rajendra K. Pachauri Peace Citizen of India
2009 Venkatraman Ramakrishnan Chemistry Indian born American Citizen